Probably Obvious Tip #3

The Bullet Journal Addict Probably Obvious Tip #3

Yes, this is probably the most obvious tip yet, but I’m always amazed at how much cleaner lines are drawn with a ruler.  Ok, not surprised, but much happier with the result.

There’s definitely a time for freehand-drawn lines, and if that’s your thing, go for it.  I do both but, most of the time, even when I think I can manage a nice line between two dots, it’s like I’m suddenly drawing with my left hand (I’m right handed) and it goes all wonky.  It’s pathetic.

The set that I bought is very similar to this one:

StaedtlerRulers

I bought it at Office Max for under $5.  Of course, literally the second day of ownership, I lost the straight ruler and it still hasn’t turned up. However, the straight edges of the triangles are still perfect for drawing lines.  I have used the protractor for banners and things, but I end up using the straight edge for lines more than anything else.

Also, I recommend a clear set over an opaque one.  Maybe it’s completely psychological, but I think it’s very helpful to see the area you’re working with as you go.

Do you currently use a ruler?  Or do you think rulers are for wimps?  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

