How I Keep a Bullet Journal At Work

How I Keep a Bullet Journal at Work | www.thebulletjournaladdict.com

A conversation yesterday on Instagram had me thinking about the extreme differences between my personal and work bullet journals, so I thought I’d do a quick run through of the journal I use at work.

I work full-time away from home as a graphic designer and keep a separate journal specific to my job. While I may not be constrained as some are by privacy protocols to keep my planners separate, they are used for very different and distinct purposes, so it just makes sense. It’s definitely not as “pretty” as my personal bullet journal but I don’t have a lot of time to spend on that kind of thing at work.

We use Trello for workflow purposes, so between that and my Outlook calendar, it’s not really necessary to keep a ton of information in my notebook.  But I do like taking physical notes in meetings, and having a place to write a to-do list of things that may not be captured in the regular process. Also, just having an index to go back to is extremely helpful for finding those notes later.

I use a Fabriano spiral-bound, grid-lined EcoQua notebook that I found at our local Blick art store. The pages are thicker (85 g/m2) and have a much smoother feel than my Moleskine.  The grid lines are soft and not distracting at all.

***Note:  Do not use the Fabriano dotted gluebound notebooks, as the pages will literally fall out as you turn the page!

I usually end up using a Sharpie Pen at work instead of my nicer Pigma Micron pens.

How I Keep a Bullet Journal at Work | www.thebulletjournaladdict.com

I mentioned that I like the index feature to keep track of important thing that I may need to refer back to later.  I don’t use it a ton, but am glad to have it for the few things I need it for.

How I Keep a Bullet Journal at Work | www.thebulletjournaladdict.com

I included a future log but haven’t ended up using it that much over my Outlook calendar.  I do use a simple monthly page to outline the upcoming month.

How I Keep a Bullet Journal at Work | www.thebulletjournaladdict.com

I have experimented with several different daily/weekly formats and have found, for me, that this combination of a weekly column and a to-do list works best for me.

How I Keep a Bullet Journal at Work | www.thebulletjournaladdict.com

I put time or date sensitive items on the far left side.  Then I’ll keep a running to-do list in that right column.  On the right page, I’ll either keep notes from meetings or other information.

Sometimes, I’ll keep a running daily section on one side, one day at a time, using as much room as needed for each day.  I colored this one with highlighters because, obviously, office supplies=work, right?  😉

How I Keep a Bullet Journal at Work | www.thebulletjournaladdict.com

How I Keep a Bullet Journal at Work | www.thebulletjournaladdict.com

I wanted to show you a couple of my more random, real and messy pages because I really do believe that a bullet journal is more about being effective than it is about being pretty.  🙂

So tell me, how do you bujo at work?

PS–I’ve converted two of my co-workers to using a bullet journal so you never know who is going to appreciate this system!

Save

12 thoughts on “How I Keep a Bullet Journal At Work

  1. Olga says:

    I just got the Fabriano dot grid notebook a couple days ago, got all excited only to find out the pages fall out 😀 but then I got really stubborn until I found a way to staple/glue it back together, and make it functional. It worked! 🙂

    Like

    • eldridgekevinm says:

      After reading several reviews of Bullet Journals, I found the Essentials Dot Matrix Notebook, A5 size, Bullet Journal by Peter Pauper Press. I have to say it is the best for Bullet Journal needs. No pages are even feeling as if they want to come out and they are very thick. Mine was 10.58 when I bought it and it has 192 dot grid pages with a pocket in the back and one ribbon, although it is listed at $11 now on Amazon. I have used it for the past two weeks and it is wonderful. I highly recommend it.

      Like

  2. Priyesh says:

    I just purchased my first Bullet Journal which I intend on using at work to help keep me organised.
    I have a question regarding meeting/project notes and an uncertainty on how to implement them into my BuJo. How are you handling those items?

    Do you use the next blank spread or do you use the back of the notebook specifically for those notes dedicating a small chunk of pages at a time, 10 pages for project A, next 10 pages for project b, regardless if you fill them or not, adding either the individual pages or chunks into your index?

    Like

  3. ms.Tapioca says:

    I like your weekly layout and will definitely try it next week! Do you have a longer master to-do list that you pull from when creating your daily to-do list? For example, you receive a request that needs to be done soon but not on a particular day. How would you note the request so you don’t forget about it? Thank you!

    Like

    • Heidi says:

      Hi ms. Tapioca, I don’t have a separate master to-do list. We use a workflow software that handles most details of my work day but anything outside of that goes on a weekly, running list in my bullet journal. If something is left undone at the end of the week, I just migrate it to the next week. I hope this answers your question!

      Like

Leave a Reply

